Skip to content

Kindle for IPad – why would anyone buy an IBook?

March 22, 2010

Finally, a tech blog is starting to understand a crucial point about the upcoming battle of eBook retailers:

…in an age where content is king, are you really going to buy an eReader dedicated to a single store?

Essentially, if I buy a Kindle eBook, I can read it (and sync it automatically and wirelessly) on my Kindle, iPhone, Android (soon), tablet PC, Mac, and IPad.

If I buy an eBook from the IBook store, I can read it on my IPad and, maybe, my iPhone.

So the real question is, can the IPad succeed if its customers choose by overwhelming numbers to use the Kindle for IPad application instead of its built-in e-reader?  Not if they built their strategy on the IPod model (where music sales from the iTunes store dwarf the revenue from iPod sales).

Page-flipping on the Kindle for IPad

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

